CALL OUR 24 HOUR PERSONAL INJURY HOTLINE 800-816-1529 X.1
General Information you need to know about your California Bus Accident Case
- If you have already been in a Bus accident in the State of California, we highly recommend that you stop reading right now, and call our law firm for a free telephone consultation at (800) 816-1529, Ext. 1. We will tell you over the telephone if we think that you have a case and whether we can help you.
- If we believe we can help you, and you decide to retain us, we can then send our investigator to you with all of the legal forms necessary for you to retain our law firm.
- If you do not have medical insurance or a medical provider, we can immediately refer you to an appropriate doctor near you for medical treatment. (Yes, even if you do not have medical insurance)
- Yes, this can all be accomplished with one phone call to our law firm. We try to make the process as simple as possible for you.
General Bus Accident Information
People ride public and private buses all over California every day. Every day there is a bus accident somewhere in California.
A bus accident could involve the bus hitting another vehicle, or another thing.
Further, a bus accident can involve you getting injured on the bus because the driver accelerated too fast causing you to fall, stopped too fast causing you to fall, or even taking a turn too fast causing you to fall.
If the bus actually is hit by another vehicle, or hits another vehicle, the person who is at fault in the accident will be responsible for paying for your injuries and damages.
It is very important you call us as soon as possible after a bus accident so we can determine who is at fault and to the requisite work necessary to protect your case.
TIME LIMIT TO FILE A LAWSUIT IN YOUR BUS ACCIDENT (California STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS)
The present Statute of Limitations for filing a lawsuit for personal injuries related to a Private Bus accident in the State of California is two (2) years from the date of the accident. If you do not file a lawsuit within two (2) years, you lose your right to sue!
If you were on a public bus, a claim must be filed with that governmental entity within 6 months from the date of the accident. If the entity rejects the claim, you must then file a lawsuit within 6 months from the date of the rejection.
The only time that you should ever wait two years to file a lawsuit in a Bus or motor vehicle accident, is if you are presently treating with a medical provider for injuries sustained in the accident. In such cases your damages are not fully known (ripe).
What do you do if you are in a Bus Accident?
Being in a Bus accident can be one of the most traumatic experiences of your life, especially if you are seriously injured. Tens of thousands of people die each year in motor vehicle accidents in the United States.
Furthermore, most buses do not have seat-belts, and many riders stand in the isle of the bus holding onto a handrail if there are no available seats while the bus is driving. These factors can increase your risk of harm if there is a bus crash or if the bus driver is driving recklessly.
If you are in any type of Bus accident the Police will usually respond. However, if they do not respond, make sure you call the police on your cell phone if you have one, or request that the bus driver call the police.
The Police will help determine liability in the accident and often times may be your only way to know what happened in the bus accident because since you are not the one driving, you may have not seen what happened in the bus accident.
Many police agencies in California will not respond to what they consider to be minor Bus accidents. If you are in a Bus accident and you are injured, make sure you inform the police of this fact, and insist that someone come out to investigate the Bus accident and take a police report. This is very important for your case.
If you are able, try to get the names and addresses of any and all witnesses.
Do not make any statements at the scene of the Bus accident to anybody but the police.
If you are truly injured, call the paramedics or request that someone else call the paramedics for you. It’s better to error on the side of caution, than to find out later that you are seriously injured.
If the paramedics give you the option of not being transported to a hospital, tell them that you want to be transported to a hospital. By law the paramedics must transport injured persons to a hospital upon request. Again, it is better to error on the side of caution. We have seen all types of Bus accident victims, and many types of Bus accident injuries could result in internal bleeding or hidden damage that you might be aware of at the time of the accident. After a Bus accident, the chemical adrenaline is produced by the body which increases your heart rate. During this process the pain you are experiencing might not seem too severe.
We cannot tell you how many of our clients have been involved in Bus accidents and went home thinking that the pain they were feeling would go away, only to end up not being able to move a few hours later. GO TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM TO GET CHECKED OUT!
If you are physically able, call our office at (800) 816-1529, Ext. 1, from the scene of the Bus accident, and we will try to immediately dispatch an investigator to the accident scene, depending upon where you are and the facts of the accident. If you cannot call us, try to contact level headed relatives or friends to come to the scene of the accident. They can not only help you to obtain information, but they can also act as witnesses to statements made by persons involved in the accident, property damage, and your injuries. Witnesses are always a good thing, especially if they are helpful to your case! They can also assist you in removing belongings from your vehicle if necessary, and give you a ride if you Bus needs to be towed.
Following our advice will in the end help us to prosecute your case.
The Necessity of retaining counsel
The above information is just a small part what you need to know when dealing with accidents.
As a firm that handles personal injury cases, including all types of Bus accidents, we must above all, highly recommend that you retain a lawyer to represent you in your accident case. Preferably within the first 24-48 hours of the time the accident occurred.
We have dealt with many people who thought they could do it on their own without a lawyer, who in the end either by their own words or conduct unintentionally sabotaged their own case, or settled their case for a small fraction of what their case was actually worth.
More than anything, we dislike having to tell someone who attempted to handle this complex area of the law on their own, that there is nothing we can do for them because they already settled their case, or they waited too long to file suit, etc.
Our purpose as a law firm is to provide you with aggressive, competent legal representation on your case. The word competency is not just some marketing term. Competency means that you have the expertise and knowledge to handle something.
The Law Offices of Norman Gregory Fernandez has the level of competency necessary to get you maximum results in your case.
We have what it takes to prosecute your case. Don’t be a fool, and try to represent yourself. Lawyers are here for a reason; because we know the system and how to navigate through it. We know what you are entitled too and how to get it either through settlement or litigation.
You may call us now for a free consultation on your case at (800) 816-1529, Ext. 1; you have nothing to lose except the money you may be entitled to in your case!